Loftia Price Guide: Buy-to-Play and Regions

Loftia costs $29.99 at launch, $24.89 with the 17% launch discount, and ¥108 in China (¥89.64 discounted). No subscription, no paid expansions.

Last Updated: 2026-10-22

Loftia Price Guide: Buy-to-Play and Regions

Quick answer: Loftia costs US$29.99 when Early Access opens on November 3, 2026 at 1pm EST, and US$24.89 while the 17% launch discount runs. The China region price is ¥108, dropping to ¥89.64 with the same discount. Loftia is buy-to-play: you pay once, there is no subscription to play, no paid expansions are planned, and everything added during Early Access is free for everyone who already owns the game. The only optional spending is cosmetic, through the Backer Boutique and the Community Pass, and the developers state that Loftia will not have gacha mechanics.

Five things that decide whether this price is fair:

  • Base price US$29.99, launch discount 17%, so US$24.89 at launch
  • China region ¥108, ¥89.64 with the same 17% launch discount
  • One purchase, no monthly fee, no play subscription, no paid expansions planned
  • All Early Access content is free for owners, including both new districts, pets and the removed proficiency cap
  • The only extra money goes into cosmetics, and there is no gacha mechanic

Loftia price at launch

Region Base price With the 17% launch discount Where the figure comes from
United States US$29.99 US$24.89 Official FAQ and Early Access page
China ¥108 ¥89.64 Official Chinese site
Other regions Regional pricing confirmed, figures not published Discount applies to the base price Official FAQ

The official FAQ sets the Early Access base price at $29.99 in the US with regional pricing available, and a limited-time launch discount of 17% brings it down to $24.89. The China figure comes from the official Chinese site, which lists the region price as ¥108 and the discounted launch price as ¥89.64.

Official source: Loftia FAQ — pricing and subscription

Official source: Loftia Early Access page — pricing and cosmetics

Official source: Loftia Chinese site — China region price

As of the October 2026 Steam Next Fest demo, the Steam store page still lists Loftia as coming soon with no purchasable package, which is why these prices come from the official FAQ and Early Access page rather than a checkout screen. Check the store page for the live price on launch day.

Official source: Loftia on Steam

We do not convert these prices into other currencies. Regional pricing is confirmed for other territories but the numbers are not published, and no official cross-region conversion exists.

Official Loftia background artwork of open sky and drifting clouds
Official Loftia background artwork of open sky and drifting clouds

Buy-to-play, not free-to-play and not a subscription

The FAQ answers this in one sentence: Loftia has no subscription to play, and once you purchase Loftia you are welcome to play as long as you like. Steam lists the game as a paid title, so there is no free tier, and the developers call the model premium rather than free-to-play.

Compare it with a subscription MMO. There you pay a recurring fee and lose access if you stop paying, new content is usually bundled into the subscription, and monetisation often sells power or progression. In Loftia the purchase is one-off, updates are free for owners, and the shop sells cosmetics only, with no gacha mechanic.

One subscription does sit in the corner of this picture. Loftia is scheduled for Nintendo Switch in 2027, and Nintendo requires a Nintendo Switch Online membership to play online games on the Switch, which the FAQ prices at $20 per year in the US. That is a platform fee, not a Loftia fee, and it does not apply to the PC or Mac launch.

The developers give their own reason for the premium model: it lets a small indie team build the game without predatory or gacha monetisation tactics, and it makes bans harder to get around, which they argue keeps the community safer.

No paid expansions: everything else is free for owners

The FAQ says there are no plans for paid expansions, that the game will be updated frequently during Early Access and beyond, and that new content will be free for everybody who owns the game. The content list for November 3, 2026 is not a paid roadmap. It is part of what your $29.99 buys.

Arriving in Early Access on November 3, 2026 Cost to owners
Hanging Gardens, the quiet floating island with fishing spots Included
Gridfall, the salvaging district built on old world ruins Included
Pets you can adopt, care for and dress up Included
Proficiencies past the demo Level 5 cap, plus Perks Included
Hydroponics Stations and the chance of Super Crops Included
Adventure Gauntlets, the demo only partly showed Included
Urbex, underground exploration for rare resources in Gridfall Included
Larger World Projects, such as rebuilding the Loftia City Dome Included

The Level 5 proficiency cap you hit in the demo is a demo limit, not the final cap. The official Early Access page says you can then take your proficiencies much further and choose which Perks to invest your points in.

Buy once, and everything added in Early Access is included

Owners keep every update the developers ship during Early Access, with no paid expansion to buy later. The pets, the second district and the removed level cap all arrive free on November 3, 2026, so a purchase at launch already covers the full Early Access feature set.

The only optional spend is cosmetics

Two extras exist, and both are cosmetic. Neither changes what you can do in the game.

Optional spend What it is Price announced
Backer Boutique Cosmetic shop: outfits, furniture, pet accessories and styles, and visual effects Not disclosed yet
Community Pass Optional pass that unlocks extra cosmetic rewards from World Projects Not disclosed yet

The official Early Access page describes the Backer Boutique as a cosmetic shop selling outfits, furniture, pet accessories and styles, and visual effects. It adds that the shop holds cosmetic items only, that they will not affect gameplay, and that Loftia will not have gacha mechanics. The Community Pass unlocks extra cosmetic rewards from World Projects, which carry two kinds of reward: some unlockable by all players, some requiring the pass. Once a World Project is finished, later players can still go back and unlock every pass reward, because the rewards do not expire.

Neither the boutique prices nor the pass price has been published, and we will not guess them. Our dedicated write-up on what these two cost you is separate.

Where to buy, and what regional pricing means

Loftia launches on Steam and the Epic Games Store for Windows PC and Mac, with Steam Deck support. Nintendo Switch is scheduled for 2027 with no date attached. PlayStation, Xbox and mobile have not been announced.

Two practical rules matter if you are buying:

  • You need to purchase the game on each platform you want to play it on. The FAQ states this directly, and it is why a Switch owner in 2027 needs a separate purchase even with the PC version in their library.
  • Crossplay is still being evaluated. The official position is that it is something the team is aiming for, that research and testing are ongoing, and that they cannot promise it yet. Buy for the platform you will actually use.

The platform and crossplay details have their own page, including the Apple Silicon Mac restriction.

Buy now or wait for the discount

The demo runs October 19 to October 26, 2026, and nothing you do in it is thrown away. Completed quests, collected items, character progression and your character name all carry into Early Access, so playing during the Next Fest is free research before you spend anything.

Two conditions are easy to miss. You have to link your loftia.gg account with your email address in game, or the developers cannot recover any rewards or progress for you. And a name claimed during the demo is released to other players if you do not log into Early Access between November 3, 2026 and February 3, 2027, so if the name matters to you, claim it and keep it.

Pre-registration on the official site hands out two limited-time in-game rewards, and a community goal of 500,000 Steam wishlists unlocks an extra reward for everyone.

The demo progress and carry-over details have their own page, and the launch date guide covers both time zones: the official Chinese site states November 4 in Beijing time while the English pages say November 3 at 1pm EST.

FAQ

Is Loftia free to play? No. Loftia is a premium, buy-to-play game with a US$29.99 base price and no free tier or free trial of the full game.

How much does Loftia cost at launch, and is there a launch discount? US$29.99 at Early Access launch on November 3, 2026, reduced to US$24.89 by a 17% launch discount. In the China region the price is ¥108, dropping to ¥89.64 with the same discount. Regional pricing is confirmed for other territories, but those figures are not published.

Is there a Loftia subscription or season pass to pay for? No subscription to play. Once you purchase Loftia you can play as long as you like. The only subscription involved is Nintendo Switch Online, which Nintendo requires for online play on the Switch version coming in 2027, priced at $20 per year in the US.

Will Loftia have paid expansions or DLC? No paid expansions are planned. The developers say the game will be updated frequently during Early Access and beyond, and that new content will be free for everybody who owns the game.

Does Loftia have gacha mechanics? No. The official Early Access page says the in-game shop will hold cosmetic items only, that they will not affect gameplay, and that Loftia will not have gacha mechanics in its monetisation.

Do I have to buy Loftia more than once if I play on PC and Switch? Yes, based on current official wording. The FAQ says you need to purchase the game on each platform you wish to play on, and crossplay is still under evaluation.

More Loftia Guides